top of page
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • TikTok

12 years ago today, Lil Wayne dropped “Tha Carter III”

Twelve years ago today, On (June 10) 2008, Lil Wayne released 'Tha Carter III' featuring the tracks “Lollipop”, Mr. Carter”, “Lollipop”, “A Milli”.

Lil Wayne was on a run in 2007 and 2008 unlike anything rap had seen before

Lil Wayne's "Tha Carter III" is handily the best-selling album of 2008, the record was an anomaly, diving off the industry’s sinking ship and achieving the impossible.Tha Carter IIIsold 1.1 million record copies in seven days – an accomplishment that hadn’t been achieved since 2005, as the industry had been struggling to adjust to the digital era. The record outsold Taylor Swift, Coldplay and a freshly auto-tuned Kanye West. Coming off the back of a legendary mixtape run, Tha Carter III was Wayne’s blockbuster arrival to hip-hop’s top table – complete with a tatted-up baby photo as artwork.

Tha Carter III tracklist

01. 3 Peat (Produced By Masetro)

02. Mr. Carter (Featuring Jay-Z) (Produced By Infamous)

03. A Milli (Produced By Bangladesh)

04. Got Money (Featuring T-Pain) (Produced By Play-n-skillz)

05. Comfortable (Featuring Babyface) (Produced By Kanye West)

06. Dr. Carter (Produced By Swizz Beatz)

07. Phone Home (Produced By Cool & Dre)

08. Tie My Hands (Featuring Robin Thicke) (Produced By Kanye West)

09. Mrs. Officer (Featuring Bobby Valentino) (Produced By Wyclef Jean


bottom of page