top of page
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • TikTok

BET will honor Nelly with the “I Am Hip Hop” Award

BET has officially announced St. Louis MC will be the recipient of the ceremony's "I Am Hip Hop"

Nelly to Receive 'I Am Hip Hop' Award at 2021 BET Hip Hop Awards

BET Network announced on the news on Monday (September 20). Nelly will receive the I Am Hip Hop award at the 2021 BET Hip Hop Awards, which will premiere Tuesday, Oct. 5, on BET.

Nelly will be joining an exclusive group of past winners that includes KRS-One, Ice Cube, Salt-N-Pepa, Rakim, MC Lyte, LL Cool J, Snoop Dogg, Lil Wayne, Master P, Grandmaster Flash, Russell Simmons, Doug E. Fresh, Scarface, Luther Campbell and Lil’ Kim.

“I am honored to receive this award and humbled to be in such great company of past artists who have received this award,” Nelly said in a statement. “I have been blessed to work with some incredible people in my career, making 22 years go by in the blink of an eye. This award isn’t just about Nelly; it is about my fans, BET, and the people that continue to support me and allow me to do what I love to do.”

Long overdue, Nelly has yet to win a BET Hip Hop Award in competition, though he was named best new artist in 2001 at the sister BET Awards. He has also won three Grammys, four American Music Awards, nine Billboard Music Awards, one MTV Video Music Award, three Soul Train Music Awards and four Teen Choice Awards.


bottom of page